Welcome to Food, Fitness, & Fun AJ’s Style

Welcome to Food, Fitness, & Fun–AJ’s Style! I’m AJ and what I want to tell you is I’ve always loved working out and eating healthy, but that would be a BIG FAT LIE! Somewhere along the way though, I realized I had to make some changes or I was going to have to deal with some serious consequences.

Back in my late 20’s, I popped a disk in my low back which consistently limits my ability to do certain things. But being the hard-headed southern woman that I am, in my early 30’s I took up running and was in the best shape of my life. What’s bad about that? High impact exercise is the best way to re-injure an already weak spine. I ended up back in physical therapy and was told, “No more running.” I became depressed and let myself go.

Fast forward to a few years ago and I began working out again. As the pounds started to come off, my energy level began to rise and I started to feel good again. Then I started a desk job and fell in love with my now husband all within a month of each other. Well being the southern woman that I am, that meant I cooked for my man and ate just as much as he did. Hello 25 more pounds!

Now we’re married, I’m the heaviest I’ve ever been, and my 40th birthday is quickly approaching. Over the past few months I have started making little changes to get myself healthy again. But I discovered two things along the way: 1) Healthy food does not have to be tasteless. 2)Getting fit can be fun!

I’m still early in my journey, but my energy level is already rising and I’m feeling tons better. I’m also doing a load of research which is helping me to make better lifestyle choices, cause trust me friend–diets don’t work!

So this blog is my way of sharing what I am learning along the way with you. I hope you’ll drop in often as I will share recipes, how I’m utilizing apps, fun ways to lose weight, and the truth about being healthy. (Here’s a little hint: You cannot sit on the couch and eat junk food, pop a diet pill, and expect to be healthy. Oh! And skinny does not equal healthy either.)

I’ll end with this: When we were kids we loved to go out and play. So instead of doing some workout you hate, figure out what you enjoy and go do it! Whether it’s skating, swimming, busting a move in your living room, riding a bike, playing Twister, or hula hooping–just do something to get up and get moving!

First blog postJust Working on My Fitness

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Food, Fitness, & Fun AJ’s Style

Leave a Reply

