When Illness Knocks You Flat on Your Back

It stinks that after I have made great progress to get healthy, I caught a bacterial infection in my lower intestines. I never want to spend that much time in the bathroom again. I missed a week of not only work, but of my life. I’m now on antibiotics and considering I’ve kept some food in my system, hopefully on the road to recovery.

With that being said, I know I still have to take it slow. This is the first day I’ve actually felt human. I lost 6 pounds in 5 days. It still winds me to move from the bed to the couch. Considering how active I had become, this is a huge setback for my health goals. Not knowing how long I’ll be down, I figured I’d do a little research on the timeline I’m facing to get back to the progress I’ve already made.

Here are a couple of articles I found:

http://www.livestrong.com/article/504794-getting-back-to-the-gym-after-being-sick/
http://www.shape.com/fitness/tips/how-to-exercise-after-being-sick

I’m definitely going to have to take it slow. It may be 2 to 3 weeks or more before I’m at the level I had achieved, which is discouraging, but I won’t let it stop me. Just got to take it one day at a time. And right now, I need a nap.

Leave a Reply

